Gardner-Webb Recognizes Students for Service and Leadership

Print Friendly

Winners Honored for Their Commitment to University Organizations

A student is congratulated by an award presenterBOILING SPRINGS, N.C.—Gardner-Webb University recently held a ceremony to recognize Student Leadership, Service, and Volunteerism. Winners of these awards exemplify the University’s core values of faith, service and leadership in their classrooms and communities.

In recognition of the award presentation, each student may choose one book for purchase by Gardner-Webb’s Dover Memorial Library. The book will be inscribed with the student’s name and the date of the award presentation.

The following students were recognized:

Student Government Association new executive officers for 2019-20:

  • President: Shelby Putnam, Rock Hill, S.C., junior, political science
  • Vice President: Gabriel Hoyle, McLeansville, N.C., junior, global studies
  • Secretary: Bridgette Turner, Clayton, N.C., junior, communication studies
  • Treasurer: Lauryn Truitt, Charlotte, N.C., senior, business administration
  • Parliamentarian: Jillian Sward, Pompano Beach, Fla., freshman, marketing

Biology Service Award – Jacob Corley Jackson, of Tryon, N.C., senior, biology

Chemistry Service Award – Dylan Ray Graham, Kings Mountain, N.C., senior, chemistry and Celsea Lynn Reeder, Salisbury, N.C., senior, biology

Criminal Justice Administration Leadership Award:

  • Dylan Cobb, Ellenboro, N.C., sophomore
  • Charles Qualls, Shelby, N.C., sophomore
  • Kurt Everett, Medina, Ohio, sophomore

Dover Memorial Library Award – Rachael Meachem, sociology, December 2018 graduate

Exercise Science Service Award — Karlee Moore (Health Fitness), Conover, N.C., and Jordan Davey (Health Science), Charlotte, N.C.

Donald Sidney (Sid) Haton, Jr. Marching Band Spirit Award – Matthew Pennell, Woodruff, S.C., senior, music education

Global Studies Award For Humanitarian Service – Gabriel Hoyle, McLeansville, N.C., junior, global studies

Peer Leader Awards:

  • Aliah Price, Charlotte, N.C., senior, marketing
  • Justin Kunz, Wake Forest, N.C., senior, business administration
  • Callie Elliott, Terrell, N.C., senior, biology
  • Ally Ward, Norwood, N.C., senior, English
  • Juliana Denmark, Raleigh, N.C., senior exercise science

Religious Studies Association Service Award – Annie Deaton, Greenville, S.C., senior discipleship studies

The Alfred & Shirley Wampler Caudill Service-Learning Award:

  • Winner — Amy Uriostegui, Hendersonville, N.C., senior, international business
  • Honorable Mentions — Kaitlyn Guins, Conover, N.C., sophomore, American Sign Language, and Morgan Vanderschaaf, Jenison, Mich., senior, nursing
  • Finalists — Tim Bennett, Fishers, Ind., sophomore, exercise science
  • Ezekiel Martin, Goldsboro, N.C., senior, computer science
  • Karlee Moore, Conover, N.C., senior excersice science

Justin Scot Alston LIFE Award — Josh Walston, Winterville, N.C., senior, business administration

Presidential Associates – Justin Jenkins, Knoxville, Tenn., senior, psychology, and Karin Sastre, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., senior, business administration

Student Alumni Association Recognition:

  • Elizabeth Phillips, Forest City, N.C., senior business administration
  • Hannah Phillips, Cramerton, N.C., senior, graphic deisgn
  • Zuridai Jamies, Greensboro, N.C., senior graphic design

Student Recruitment Ambassadors Scholarship Award — Holly O’Brien, Cornelius, N.C., freshman, undecided, and Haley Pierce, Jamestown, N.C., sophomore, biology

Pam Scruggs Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Leadership Award – Maggie Mae Everett, Medina, Ohio, senior, communication studies

Student Athlete Advisory Committee Outstanding Members — Breanna Smith, Indian Trail, junior, nursing, and Colleen Conn, Chester, S.C., senior, nursing

Most School Spirited Award – Will Marvel, Buford, Ga., senior sport management

Outstanding Leadership Award — Lauryn Truitt, Charlotte, N.C., senior, business administration, and Isaac Tuttle, Lenoir, N.C., senior, history

Residential Service And Leadership Award – Michaela Bissinger, Fletcher, N.C., senior, nursing, and Drew Peden, Inman, S.C., senior, journalism

Community Engagement Award – Cassidy Craig, Lenoir, N.C., junior, middle grades education

Pamela Darnell Christian Mission Award — Austyn Gorski, Lawrenceville, Ga., senior, psychology

The Charles And Sybil Shelton Outstanding Christian Service Award — Austyn Gorski, and Carson Branham, Charlotte, N.C.,senior, discipleship studies

Located in the North Carolina foothills, Gardner-Webb University is a private, Christian, liberal arts university. Gardner-Webb emphasizes a strong student-centered experience and rigorous academics to prepare students to become effective leaders within the global community. Ignite your future at