Gardner-Webb Celebrates Employees’ Long Service and Honors 2012 Retirees

Print Friendly

BOILING SPRINGS, N.C. – Gardner-Webb University recently recognized faculty and staff members for long tenures of service and presented retirement awards to six employees at the annual “Apples and Accolades” awards ceremony.  One retiree, Patricia Harrelson, was also inducted into the “Faith, Service, and Leadership Hall of Fame,” an honor reserved only for faculty with at least 40 years of service to Gardner-Webb.

Harrelson, a longtime music professor and vocal coach, will retire in 2012 after exactly four decades of teaching in Gardner-Webb’s music department.  In her induction speech, President Dr. Frank Bonner said, “A symbolic phrase we often use to describe a great teacher’s influence on students is that she ‘helps them find their voice.’  Well, as one of her colleagues recently said, Patricia Harrelson has been doing that quite literally for decades.”  Harrelson was also presented with a letter awarding her full professor status, a gesture of appreciation for her years of excellence in teaching.

Concerning the Hall of Fame itself, Bonner also said to the staff and faculty in attendance, “Each member of this distinguished Hall is a champion and an exemplar of faith, service, and leadership, and as such, they are the keepers of a legacy that is now ours to further and protect.”

In addition to Harrelson, retirement awards and Gardner-Webb rocking chairs were presented to five other employees: Dr. Jim Whitlow, professor of pastoral care and counseling (16 yrs.); Sylvia McCurry, payroll accountant (12 yrs.); Dick Wince, head wrestling coach (22 yrs.); Roderick “Woody” Wood, housekeeper (17 yrs.); and Patricia Brannon, housekeeper (3 yrs.).

Employees were also recognized for 10 years, 25 years, and 30 years of service.  Thirty-year awards were presented to Dr. Janie Carlton, professor of nursing, and Dr. Jeff Tubbs, vice president for institutional effectiveness and distance learning.

Twenty-five-year awards were given to: Dr. A. Frank Bonner, president; Sandra Earl, secretary to the president’s administrative assistant; and J. Harrison Williams, catalog assistant in the Dover Library.

Ten-year awards were presented to:

  • Dawn M. Anthony
  • Sandra B. Bailes
  • Fannie E. Brooks
  • Selvia B. Brown
  • Dr. C. Douglas Bryan
  • Jeremy L. Fern
  • Dr. R. Van Graham
  • Michael G. Griffith
  • Christopher R. Keene
  • Alison A. Kernicky
  • Dr. Thomas J. Meaders
  • Dr. Corwin M. Metcalf
  • Dr. Miroslaw Mystkowski
  • Jeff Powell
  • Emily G. Robertson
  • Dr. Faye H. Rucker
  • Dr. David W. Shellman
  • James D. Smith
  • Dr. Patricia C. Sparti
  • Dr. Gail D. Stowe
  • Joshua N. Stroup
  • J. Russell Stroupe
  • Dr. Venita L. Totten
  • Dr. Danny M. West