People Singing

Student Ministries

“As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.” Ephesians 4:1-3

 

We invite you to participate in Campus Ministries United (CMU), an umbrella association consisting of a variety of student ministry groups. These ministries will help you develop a mature Christian faith by providing varied opportunities for expressing a growing Christian experience.

 

The CMU Council is composed of student leaders who represent different aspects of Christian Life and Service and model unified function, mutual understanding, encouragement, and cooperation.  As a member of CMU Council, you will work together with other council members and the ministerial staff through prayer, discipleship, and relationship-building to promote a passion and enduring devotion to Christ among students at GWU.

 

Student ministries include:

 

The Gathering

The Gathering is a student-led worship service open to all students in the Stewart Hall (in the Tucker Student Center) every Tuesday night at 8pm. You’ll love getting to worship with fellow students through music, a speaker, drama, and fellowship. For more information, contact Caitlyn Brotherton at cbrotherton@gardner-webb.edu or Jacob Kirby at jkirby@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Missions Possible

Missions Possible creates awareness for mission needs at home and abroad. Gardner-Webb is one of the nation’s top ten schools for mobilizing student missionaries through the North American Mission Board. During the 2014-2015 school year, students will have the opportunity to serve in Elizabeth City, North Carolina; Denver, Colorado; Guatemala;  Honduras and Cape Town, South Africa.   To learn more, contact Teresa Davis at tdavis@gardner-webb.edu.

 

F.O.C.U.S.

Fellowship of Christians United in Service (FOCUS) consists of teams of students who are involved in leading youth retreats locally and regionally. FOCUS teams of 6-10 students meet weekly and develop a closer community of friends devoted to discipleship and serving the Lord by working with the church. FOCUS trips are designed to meet the needs and desires of the church so each one is different but typically they last from Friday evening until after lunch on Sunday. Throughout the weekend, FOCUS teams encourage youth through games, skits, worship times, and Bible study. The team and youth are prepared to lead the service on Sunday morning. To request a team or for more information, please contact  Micah Honeycutt at mhoneycutt2@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Pastoral Care Ministries

Throughout the week and before Verge on Tuesdays at 7:15pm in the Tucker Chapel, students gather to pray for campus as well as the future of the university. There is also a 24/7 prayer room located in Dover Chapel. The prayer room is open for all to pray, meditate, and worship through art and music. Students also periodically plan and participate in 24-7 prayer campaigns. For more information or to submit a prayer request, contact  Devan Vandenbark at dvandenbark@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Outreach Ministries

Through Outreach Ministries, students are able to serve others and develop relationships through one-on-one interactions allowing for discipleship and fellowship on campus. To get involved contact  Merritt Huff at mhuff1@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Media Ministry

Media ministry helps facilitate worship through making videos and Power Points, running sound systems, and working at Dimensions. Contact  Alyssa Jewett at ajewett@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Publicity Ministry

To help get the word out about upcoming events and other ministries through flyers, banners, videos, and more, contact Jonelle Bobak at jbobak@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Sisters, Women’s Ministries

Sisters Ministry allows females on campus have the opportunity to build Christian relationships and accountability through small groups, fellowship, fun events, and service projects. To get involved, contact Erica McCray at emccray1@gardner-webb.edu or Katie Hudson at kelizabeth1@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Brothers, Men’s Ministries

Brothers Ministry allows students in small groups to meet for fellowship, prayer, accountability, and Bible study as well as outdoor adventures such as camping trips. To get involved, contact James Mauney at jmauney@gardner-webb.edu.

 

International Students Ministries

Since international students are far away from home, the International Ministry partners with the International Club to provide the chance for students to have a “home away from home” at GWU. To get involved, contact James Mauney at jmauney@gardner-webb.edu or Neal Payne at npayne@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Athletics Ministry

Athletics Ministry coordinates a Team of the Week for every GWU team once a year. During this time, teams are prayed for and with (if permitted) and each athlete receives a goodie bag. If athletes have birthdays during the school year and live on campus, they receive a homemade birthday card from CMU. To get involved, contact Addison Abee at aabee1@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Prison Fellowship Ministries

Prison Fellowship gives students the opportunity to visit regional prisons thus allowing for conversations and ministry with the prisoners. For more information contact Stephanie Hicks at shicks3@gardner-webb.edu or Nikole Roland at nroland@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Gospel Choir

The Gospel Choir practices weekly and has the opportunity to perform in churches and at other events. To get involved, contact Ricky Alston at ralstonjr@gardner-webb.edu.

 

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

FCA’s mission is to bring athletes and other students together to serve and worship. They meet every Thursday night at 8pm in the Clubhouse.  For more information, contact Merideth Byl mbyl@gardner-webb.edu or Benedikt Henkel  bhenkel@gardner-webb.edu

 

If you are interested in being plugged in to CMU but aren’t quite sure where,  contact James Mauney, CMU Coordinator, at jmauney@gardner-webb.edu.